Growing out healthy hair.

When I was a little girl, I always wanted long blonde hair like Rapunzel. Obviously though I went through phases of cutting my hair short, then trying to grow it out again. I could never really make up my mind. Towards the end of high school though, a girl in my grade had hair so long that she would braid it beautifully everyday, and all the girls would ask her to teach them. I seriously begun to consider getting hair extensions just so I could have the same beautiful long hair.

School formal came around, and I got a few blonde hair extensions put into my hair so I didn’t have to dye it. As most of the female population would know, going from brunette to blonde is very costly and time consuming if you have it done professionally and gradually so you don’t kill the hair. The extensions I had put in were beaded, and afterwards I regretted it. It was uncomfortable, and looked tacky once the hair began to grow the beads out. I wasn’t aware of the extremely high maintainence that came with hair extensions, and removed the few I had a week later.

Afterwards I did a lot of research in how to grow my hair long quickly. I found a lot of helpful pointers, so I thought I should share them with you. One thing to keep in mind though, is that regardless of how fast you want to grow your hair, it will always require time and patience.

First things first. Find a good hairdresser to examine your hair. Knowing your hair type is important for knowing which shampoo and conditioners you should buy. You also want a hairdresser that is able to trim your hair enough to still maintain its length without cutting everything you’ve grown out so far. It sounds a little strange, but I have had my fair share of bad hair days thanks to an inexperienced hairdresser.

Find a shampoo and conditioner that is specifically for long hair. These shampoos are made to prevent split ends, moisturize your hair and provide a protective coat over the hair follicles. Whilst growing out my hair I used Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship shampoo and conditioner.

If you decide to switch shampoos, do it gradually. Like with most beauty products, suddenly switching shampoo and conditioner can shock your hair, which is why some people like to stay with the same shampoo for 20 years. To change the product you’re using, begin by slowly introducing it. For example, you run out of shampoo but still have conditioner, then start using the new shampoo of the different product, or use both, but alternate nights till the old one is gone (if you do this, wait till your original products are half full).

Sometimes after a while you find your hair becomes greasy. I found that when this begun to happen, it was when I was washing my hair daily. Wash your hair a couple of times a week, or if you feel like you can’t give up washing it regularly, then wash it every second night. Washing your hair often can strip the hair of its natural oils leaving it dull. If it still remains greasy, then I recommend switching shampoo and conditioner as your hair may be used to it. During this switch though, switch the type of shampoo within the same brand. I used almost all of the Herbal Essences shampoo and conditioners, except the ones that where specifically made for dyed hair (as I have my natural hair colour). Almost always beauty companies that make their products will use similar ingredients in each of the different ranges they release, which is great if you need to change it up, but still want to stick with your favourite brand.

Finally if you dye your hair, try growing out your natural hair colour. It will make growing your hair longer, easier and faster. Otherwise seek advice from your hairdresser on ways to grow it out.

Good luck!

Stay beautiful.

One thought on “Growing out healthy hair.

Leave a Reply

