New Years Resolution

Fireworks

In certain situations I come across in my life, I feel like I have the worst luck and an omen is forever placed there. For example, at one stage in my life I constantly had a boyfriend. Regardless of the fact I was in high school and completely naive to the whole “love” scene, it seemed as though these relationships would always end in six months. Meet a guy, start dating, six months later we break up. It was as though I was stuck in an infinite loop. I begun to realise that at that six month mark, we would celebrate being together for that time just before breaking up. Which is why I vowed to never actively try to celebrate an anniversary of a relationship I was involved in ever again.

It sounds ridiculous and silly in every way, but for me it seems to have worked. That, or I’ve just finally meet someone willing to commit.

Anyway, the point of my story is that new years resolutions or personal goals for that matter, I seem to consistently break. I’ll go and make this big list of all the things I want to achieve in the new year and just end up disappointing myself when I’ve barely made a dint in it. I know I’m not alone in this. So I resorted to not telling anyone about my resolutions. That ended just as poorly, except no one was there to critique me except for myself.

Now I have found a more effective way to make a resolution and keep it. It’s rather simple really. Make only one for the year. That’s right, just one. It doesn’t have to be a huge commitment like exercise an hour everyday or save $100,000 by the end of the year. It can be as simple as drink more water or eat more fruit and vegetables.

Last year I challenge myself to drink more water, and this year I’m committing to learning to love myself more. Not in a vain way through material possessions, but more learning to love myself for who I am. Accepting my flaws, and making sure my own mental health is in check. People often forget to put themselves first sometimes and it’s something I don’t seem to do very much. It isn’t selfish to think about yourself once in a while.

So what is your new years resolution?

Stay beautiful.

Leave a Reply

